Monday, April 15, 2013

Pulitzers given for stories on pipeline regulation, Wal-Mart bribes, rural book; carp sharp comes close

The Pulitzer Prizes announced today for the best journalism of 2012 have some rural resonance.

Lisa Song, Elizabeth McGowan and David Hasemyer of InsideClimate News won the prize for National Reporting for "rigorous reports on flawed regulation of the nation’s oil pipelines, focusing on potential ecological dangers posed by diluted bitumen," the citation read. Just today, we have an item based on an ICN report suggesting that Exxon Mobil falsified its reporting of a recent "dilbit" spill.

UPDATE: For a profile of ICN, by Jeff Bercovici of Forbes magazine, click here.

David Barstow and Alejandra Xanic von Bertrab of The New York Times won the Investigative Reporting award for their reports on how Wal-Mart used widespread bribery to dominate the market in Mexico, resulting in changes in company practices.

One finalist in the Explanatory Reporting category was Dan Egan of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel for his exhaustive examination of the struggle to keep Asian carp and other invasive species from reaching the Great Lakes and ultimately all of the nation’s inland waters, a story enhanced by animated graphics."

Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America, by Gilbert King, won the award for general nonfiction book: "a richly detailed chronicle of racial injustice in the Florida town of Groveland in 1949, involving four black men falsely accused of rape and drawing a civil rights crusader, and eventual Supreme Court justice, into the legal battle." Other finalists were Also nominated as finalists in this category were Behind the Beautiful Forevers, a book about Mumbai by Katherine Boo, and The Forest Unseen: A Year's Watch in Nature," by David George Haskell, right, "a fascinating book that, for a year, closely follows the natural wonders occurring within a tiny patch of old-growth Tennessee forest" in the Appalachian Mountains. For a list of all finalists, click here.

No comments: